Call Us -1800 123 6898
Menu

New Zealand - Best of the North Island

7 Days, Auckland to Wellington
New Zealand - Best of the North Island

All Departures 100% Guaranteed | If you're booked, you're going.

Admittedly, we haven't checked the numbers too closely, but we're confident that New Zealand ranks among the world's leading producers of exciteme read more...

IS THIS Yolo TRIP FOR ME ? YES ! IF YOU...
    • Are young at heart
    • Prefer fast-paced and budget-friendly trips
    • Want to have meaningful encounters with local people
    • Love making new friends
What's Included
  • Overseas Medical Insurance for the duration of the tour (Sum of US$ 2,50,000 covered).
  • 06 nights accommodation - (Hostels (2 nts), simple hotel (1 nt), basic lodges (3 nts). Most nights are multi-share).
  • 6 breakfasts, 1 lunch, 3 dinners.
read more...
  • All transport between destinations and to/from included activities (Private bus).
  • Visit to a conservation farm (Raglan).
  • Sea kayaking (Raglan).
  • Surf lesson (Raglan).
  • Maori cultural experience.
  • Tongariro Alpine Crossing (seasonal).
  • Te Papa Museum (Wellington).
  • Orientation walk in Wellington.
  • Services of Chief Experience Officer (CEO) throughout the tour , local guides.
VERY IMPORTANT
Please ensure that you print a final copy of your trip details provided by Cox & Kings as pdf format.
Important Notes
We recommend you to have a meal budget of USD 125 - 165 for food and drinks which are not included in the programme.
read more...
Itinerary
Day 1 Auckland
Day 2 Auckland/Raglan
Day 3 Raglan
Day 4 Raglan/Rotorua
Day 5 Rotorua/National Park
Day 6 National Park/Wellington
Day 7 Wellington
Departures
  • Oct
    2017
  • Nov
    2017
  • Dec
    2017
  • Jan
    2018
  • Feb
    2018
  • Mar
    2018
  • Apr
    2018
  • May
    2018
  • Jun
    2018
  • Jul
    2018
  • Aug
    2018
  • Sep
    2018
  • Oct
    2018
  • Nov
    2018
  • Dec
    2018
  • Start
  • Finish
  • Sat, 28 Oct '17
  • Fri, 03 Nov '17
  • Wed, 08 Nov '17
  • Tue, 14 Nov '17
  • Wed, 22 Nov '17
  • Tue, 28 Nov '17
  • Wed, 29 Nov '17
  • Tue, 05 Dec '17
  • Wed, 06 Dec '17
  • Tue, 12 Dec '17
  • Wed, 13 Dec '17
  • Tue, 19 Dec '17
  • Wed, 20 Dec '17
  • Tue, 26 Dec '17
  • Sat, 23 Dec '17
  • Fri, 29 Dec '17
  • Wed, 27 Dec '17
  • Tue, 02 Jan '18
  • Sat, 30 Dec '17
  • Fri, 05 Jan '18
  • Wed, 03 Jan '18
  • Tue, 09 Jan '18
  • Wed, 10 Jan '18
  • Tue, 16 Jan '18
  • Wed, 17 Jan '18
  • Tue, 23 Jan '18
  • Sat, 20 Jan '18
  • Fri, 26 Jan '18
  • Wed, 24 Jan '18
  • Tue, 30 Jan '18
  • Sat, 27 Jan '18
  • Fri, 02 Feb '18
  • Wed, 31 Jan '18
  • Tue, 06 Feb '18
  • Sat, 03 Feb '18
  • Fri, 09 Feb '18
  • Wed, 07 Feb '18
  • Tue, 13 Feb '18
  • Sat, 10 Feb '18
  • Fri, 16 Feb '18
  • Wed, 14 Feb '18
  • Tue, 20 Feb '18
  • Sat, 17 Feb '18
  • Fri, 23 Feb '18
  • Wed, 21 Feb '18
  • Tue, 27 Feb '18
  • Sat, 24 Feb '18
  • Fri, 02 Mar '18
  • Wed, 28 Feb '18
  • Tue, 06 Mar '18
  • Sat, 03 Mar '18
  • Fri, 09 Mar '18
  • Wed, 07 Mar '18
  • Tue, 13 Mar '18
  • Sat, 10 Mar '18
  • Fri, 16 Mar '18
  • Wed, 14 Mar '18
  • Tue, 20 Mar '18
  • Sat, 17 Mar '18
  • Fri, 23 Mar '18
  • Wed, 21 Mar '18
  • Tue, 27 Mar '18
  • Sat, 24 Mar '18
  • Fri, 30 Mar '18
  • Wed, 28 Mar '18
  • Tue, 03 Apr '18
  • Sat, 31 Mar '18
  • Fri, 06 Apr '18
  • Sat, 07 Apr '18
  • Fri, 13 Apr '18
  • Sat, 14 Apr '18
  • Fri, 20 Apr '18
  • Sat, 21 Apr '18
  • Fri, 27 Apr '18
  • Sat, 28 Apr '18
  • Fri, 04 May '18
  • Sat, 05 May '18
  • Fri, 11 May '18
  • Sat, 12 May '18
  • Fri, 18 May '18
  • Sat, 26 May '18
  • Fri, 01 Jun '18
  • Sat, 02 Jun '18
  • Fri, 08 Jun '18
  • Sat, 09 Jun '18
  • Fri, 15 Jun '18
  • Sat, 16 Jun '18
  • Fri, 22 Jun '18
  • Sat, 23 Jun '18
  • Fri, 29 Jun '18
  • Sat, 30 Jun '18
  • Fri, 06 Jul '18
  • Sat, 07 Jul '18
  • Fri, 13 Jul '18
  • Sat, 21 Jul '18
  • Fri, 27 Jul '18
  • Sat, 04 Aug '18
  • Fri, 10 Aug '18
  • Sat, 18 Aug '18
  • Fri, 24 Aug '18
  • Sat, 01 Sep '18
  • Fri, 07 Sep '18
  • Sat, 15 Sep '18
  • Fri, 21 Sep '18
  • Sat, 29 Sep '18
  • Fri, 05 Oct '18
  • Sat, 06 Oct '18
  • Fri, 12 Oct '18
  • Sat, 13 Oct '18
  • Fri, 19 Oct '18
  • Sat, 20 Oct '18
  • Fri, 26 Oct '18
  • Sat, 27 Oct '18
  • Fri, 02 Nov '18
  • Sat, 03 Nov '18
  • Fri, 09 Nov '18
  • Wed, 07 Nov '18
  • Tue, 13 Nov '18
  • Sat, 10 Nov '18
  • Fri, 16 Nov '18
  • Wed, 14 Nov '18
  • Tue, 20 Nov '18
  • Sat, 17 Nov '18
  • Fri, 23 Nov '18
  • Wed, 21 Nov '18
  • Tue, 27 Nov '18
  • Sat, 24 Nov '18
  • Fri, 30 Nov '18
  • Wed, 28 Nov '18
  • Tue, 04 Dec '18
  • Sat, 01 Dec '18
  • Fri, 07 Dec '18
  • Wed, 05 Dec '18
  • Tue, 11 Dec '18
  • Sat, 08 Dec '18
  • Fri, 14 Dec '18
  • Wed, 12 Dec '18
  • Tue, 18 Dec '18
  • Sat, 15 Dec '18
  • Fri, 21 Dec '18
  • Wed, 19 Dec '18
  • Tue, 25 Dec '18
  • Sat, 22 Dec '18
  • Fri, 28 Dec '18
  • Wed, 26 Dec '18
  • Tue, 01 Jan '19
  • Sat, 29 Dec '18
  • Fri, 04 Jan '19
TRIP SPECIFIC SAFETY

Cox & Kings takes all reasonable measures to ensure your safety and enjoyment while travelling with us. The aim of this document is to give you an insight into ways you may further enhance your own personal safety while abroad.

Places Visited
  • Auckland
  • Raglan
  • Rotorua
  • Tongariro National Park
  • Wellington
  • Auckland to Wellington Map
  • DAY 1 Auckland

    Arrive at any time.

    Arrive in Auckland at any time. There are no planned activities during the day, so check into the hotel and explore the city.

    If you arrive early enough, opt to visit the Maritime Museum, walk the waterfront, or even take the ferry to Waiheke Island.

    Arrival Day and Welcome Meeting
    19:00
    Tonight, the adventure begins. Feel free to explore - but make sure you're back in time to meet your group. After introductions, your CEO will review the details of your trip.

    Optional Activities
    Maritime Museum Visit
    Auckland 1h-8h
    17-29NZD per person
    Tour the museum’s seven galleries to learn more about New Zealand’s relationship with the sea. Be inspired by the country's most celebrated mariner, Sir Peter Blake, and his many accomplishments, and see maritime art that speaks to the sentiment of a nautical nation.

    Waiheke Island Excursion
    Waiheke Island 3h-8h
    45-130NZD per person
    Take a ferry ride to Waiheke Island for a quick, fun getaway. Swim or kayak at white-sand beaches in the Hauraki Gulf. Tour the island's tracks and bush reserves, or sample your way through some of the island’s 19 boutique wineries (the island produces some of New Zealand’s finest reds). (None (Meals on your own))

  • DAY 2 Auckland/Raglan

    Visit a special conservation farm to learn about their methods before sea kayaking to a harbour for a picnic lunch.

    Travel backroads to a remote conservation farm where they are using natural means to boost the stocks of traditionally farmed marine life. Farmers have created a balanced ecosystem to attract native birds and animals back to the area.

    After, kayak to a remote part of the harbour for a boat cruise and lunch, before heading to our lodge a few minutes drive from the famous surf and arts town of Raglan for the night.

    Private Vehicle
    Auckland - Raglan 3h 160km
    Stretch out and scan the scenery from the comfort of a private vehicle.

    Sea Kayaking
    Raglan
    Tour Raglan's secluded bays and unique coastline by kayak. Paddle the inner harbour to get up close to wildlife, fish, and (fingers crossed) orcas. Discover the pancake rocks on the harbour's northern side. (Breakfast,Lunch)

  • DAY 3 Raglan

    Enjoy an included surf lesson in one of the world's most famous surf areas, then opt to take a bone carving lesson with local Maori.

    Head down to the beach for an included surf lesson. The afternoon is open for optional activities such as bone carving with local Maori, mountain biking or exploring the many trails.

    Surf Lessons
    Raglan
    Learn how to catch a wave in this 3-hour surf lesson. Start with instruction on dry land before heading into the surf. Take advantage of the large soft boards used in class (they help everyone stand up).

    Free Time
    Raglan Afternoon
    Enjoy free time any way you want in this surfing town. Head to the beach to hang ten or relax with a cold drink and plan your next activities.

    Optional Activities
    Bone Carving
    Raglan 3h-4h
    89NZD per person
    Make your very own pendant (and souvenir) at this bone carving class. Learn the cultural significance of this craft and follow expert instruction to make a traditional Maori carving using a grinder and template.

    Stand Up Paddle Lesson
    Raglan
    79NZD per person
    Enjoy fantastic scenery and a great workout while stand up paddle boarding in the Raglan harbour.

    Mountain Biking
    Raglan 1h-2h
    49NZD per person
    Explore solo or take a tour with a knowledgeable guide and learn more about this town that has won so many hearts. Find a track that suits your level in the trails surrounding the town and local beaches.

    Hiking
    Raglan
    Free
    Lace up your hiking boots and head out on local tracks for scenic views. Try walks around Mt Karioi, Te Toto Gorge, or Wainui Reserve.

    Yoga
    Raglan
    Nurture your mind, body, and soul in a yoga class. Want an extra challenge? Try a SUP (stand up paddleboard) yoga class for a unique on-the-water experience.

    Karioi Loop Walk
    Whale Bay 1h30m-2h
    Free
    Enjoy a pleasant forest walk on the flanks of extinct volcano Mt Karioi. Start and finish at our location in Whale Bay. Be ready to get a little muddy if it's been raining - it's all part of the adventure. (Dinner,Breakfast)

  • DAY 4 Raglan/Rotorua

    Opt to go caving before heading to Rotorua, notable for its geothermal activity and culture. Visit a local village to gain insight into Maori culture. Enjoy a traditional 'Hangi' experience.

    Depending on the weather conditions and the desires of the group, opt to visit the Waitomo caves, famous for their glow-worms. For the adventurous, there is the option of 'black water rafting'.

    Continue to Rotorua for an engaging cultural experience on the grounds of a historic Maori village. Dine on traditional Maori food (Hangi) this evening.

    Private Vehicle
    Raglan - Rotorua 4h260km
    Stretch out and scan the scenery from the comfort of a private vehicle.

    Maori Cultural Experience
    Rotorua
    Immerse yourself in a Maori cultural experience on the grounds of a historic Maori village. Participate in a powhiri (welcoming ceremony), and learn about the history of the marae (village) and the Rotorua-area from a local Maori guide. Discover the abundant geothermal energy surrounding the village that's used for cooking, heating, and communal bath houses.

    Optional Activities
    Waitomo Caving Excursion
    Waitomo Cave
    68NZD per person
    Enjoy a peaceful boat ride through caverns covered with magical glowworms that are unique to New Zealand. Hundreds of thousands of these tiny creatures radiate luminescent light in underground caves calved by rivers and time. Take in more than 120 years of cultural and natural history on this unique excursion.

    Black Water Rafting
    Waitomo 3h-5h
    120NZD per person
    Float down a river on this subterranean inner tube adventure.

    Waitomo Lost World
    Waitomo Cave
    272NZD per person
    Feel like the hero of your own action movie on this tour that involves a 100m (328 ft) abseil (rappel) into the Lost World with a guide at your side. Be awed by the beauty of an iconic cavern that's covered in glittering glow-worms. After a 30-min descent, embark on a journey back to the surface through a spectacular dry cavern. Relish in your accomplishments (and added confidence) afterwards with some good food and drink.

    Waitomo Haggas Honking Holes
    Get your fix of adrenaline and fun on this underground action adventure. Do a series of abseils, rock climbs, crawls, and cruises as you explore the fabulous Waitomo caves in an action-packed 4 hrs. See stalactites, stalagmites, and glow-worms up close.

    Waitomo Valley Walk
    Waitomo
    Free
    Explore Waitomo Valley's amazing rugged landscape by foot on this one-way walk - the CEO will see you off at the start. Check out a small cave on your way, and then follow the trail through the forest back to Waitomo Village. Be sure to wear comfortable shoes, and take a rain jacket and water. (Dinner,Breakfast)

  • DAY 5 Rotorua/National Park

    Travel around Lake Taupo and explore the volcanic World Heritage-listed national parks in the area. Conquer the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, New Zealand's top-rated 1-day trek (seasonal).

    Start early to walk the Tongariro Crossing, New Zealand's top-rated 1-day trek. Collect all your supplies before the hike - the transfer will drop the group off at the beginning of the self-guided trek and pick up everyone at the end.

    After the trek, travel to a ski lodge on the side of a mountain for the night. An on-site spa and sauna is available to help ease tired muscles.

    Private Vehicle
    Rotorua - Tongariro National Park 3h 180km
    Stretch out and scan the scenery from the comfort of a private vehicle.

    Tongariro Alpine Crossing Trek
    Tongariro Crossing 19-20km
    Enjoy spectacular views and otherworldly landscapes on this challenging and rewarding 19.4km (12 mi) trek across a volcanic range. This trek has been called one of the best day hikes in the world. Get prepared before you head out - go through a safety checklist and be sure to buy supplies, food, and water ahead of time. Dress accordingly - elements change constantly.

    Note: if the weather is too bad to trek, there will be alternative options such as smaller walks in the area or a visit to remote hot springs. If you do not wish to do the Tongariro Crossing, other activities can be arranged.

    Optional Activities
    Mountain Air
    Tongariro National Park 15m-30m
    120-225NZD per person
    Bypass the Tongariro Crossing if you're not up for it. Take to the skies and experience a scenic flight over the mountains - if it's a clear day. Magic!

    Taranaki Falls
    Tongariro National Park
    Opt to do the Taranaki Falls walk if the Tongariro Crossing is cancelled, or if you are not feeling up to the challenge. Take in great views of this 20m (66ft) waterfall and surrounding water-worn gorges on this low alpine loop trail. Start and finish at our accommodation. (Dinner,Breakfast)

  • DAY 6 National Park/Wellington

    Hit the nation's capital and visit the national museum, Te Papa, or stroll along Oriental Parade. Check out some of the area's great bars and cafes.
    Travel to Wellington, New Zealand's capital city. Arrive early enough for a visit to the National Museum, Te Papa. Take a short walk from our accommodation to see the sights of the central business district. Finish the day off with an optional night on the town.

    Private Vehicle
    National Park - Wellington 5h 400km
    Stretch out and scan the scenery from the comfort of a private vehicle.

    Te Papa Museum Visit
    Wellington
    Visit this must-see museum, home to displays of historical Maori artifacts and modern exhibits. See how the museum is constructed on shock absorbers to withstand New Zealand's many earthquakes - find the stairwell just outside the entrance and descend into the foundations of the building. (Breakfast)

  • DAY 7 Wellington

    Depart at any time.

    Depart at any time. Looking for a lift back to Auckland? Add on the "Auckland Express" and ride with your CEO back north. Ask your sales CEO or agent about this Extra.

    What is the Auckland Express Extra? Depart 6am and return to the Nomads Auckland hostel for around 5pm (8-9 hours driving time). If you have booked a transfer that is NOT on the last day of your tour, you must book post-accommodation through G Adventures. All services must be connected.

    Departure Day
    Not ready to leave? Your CEO can help with travel arrangements to extend your adventure. (Breakfast)

  • Meal basis

    As per itinerary - B: Breakfast, L: Lunch, D: Dinner, N: No meals

  • TRIP DETAILS

    If you have booked this trip or are curious about all of the details, you can download this trip's information as a PDF.

    Please ensure that you print a final copy of your Trip Details to review a couple of days prior to travel, in case there have been changes that affect your plans.

  1. We recommend you to have a meal budget of USD 125 - 165 for food and drinks which are not included in the programme.

  2. This programme is operated on a Coach tour. Maximum Group size is 20 passengers, at an average there are 16 passengers travelling on this tour.

  3. Itinerary descriptions are guaranteed with the exception of unforeseen conditions which include, but are not limited to, road closures due to weather, acts of God, safety concerns, changes to highway legal restrictions, and acts by third parties beyond the control of Service Provider.

  4. There is no refund for any non-utilization of any services.

  5. All holiday prices are subject to Govt. Service Tax of 5% payable to Govt of India.

  6. At this point of time no services are confirmed and the same is subject to availability.

  7. Request for an early hotel check in or late checkout is at the discretion of the accommodation unless pre-booked and pre-paid in advance.

  8. All payment to be made strictly by cheque / Demand Draft / Direct bank transfer in favour of 'COX AND KINGS LIMITED'.

  9. This tour combines with other G Adventures tours. As such, the staff and some travel companions on your tour may have previously been traveling together with G Adventures prior to Day 1 of your tour. Likewise, some staff and travel companions may be continuing together on another G Adventures tour after your trip concludes.


Please wait as we update your request.

Download Full itinerary