Call Us -1800 123 6898
Menu

NORTHERN HILLTRIBES & VILLAGES

8 Days, Bangkok to Bangkok
NORTHERN HILLTRIBES & VILLAGES

All Departures 100% Guaranteed | If you're booked, you're going.

From the luxury of Bangkok's malls and gleaming high-rises, head north to Thailand's hills. Eating and sleeping with the hilltribes will bring you face-to read more...

IS THIS Yolo TRIP FOR ME ? YES ! IF YOU...
    • Are young at heart
    • Prefer fast-paced and budget-friendly trips
    • Want to have meaningful encounters with local people
    • Love making new friends
What's Included
  • Overseas Medical Insurance for the duration of the tour (Sum of US$ 2,50,000 covered).
  • 7 nights accommodation with Hotels (Simple hotels (3 nts), basic hilltribe huts (2 nts, multi-share), sleeper trains (2 nts)).
  • 5 breakfasts, 3 lunches, 2 dinners.
read more...
  • All transport between destinations and to/from included activities (Local bus, songthaew, train, walking, river raft.).
  • Hilltribe trek.
  • Indigenous village stay.
  • Bamboo rafting.
  • Street food crawl.
  • Chief Experience Officer (CEO) throughout, trekking staff.
VERY IMPORTANT
Please ensure that you print a final copy of your trip details provided by Cox & Kings as pdf format.
Important Notes
We recommend you to have a meal budget of USD65-85 for food and drinks which are not included in the programme.
read more...
Itinerary
Day 1 Arrive Bangkok
Day 2 Bangkok/Chiang Mai
Day 3 Chiang Mai
Day 4 Chiang Mai/Ban Mae Jok
Day 5 Ban Mae Jok/Pa Khao Lam
Day 6 Pa Khao Lam/Chiang Mai
Day 7 Chiang Mai/Bangkok
Day 8 Depart Bangkok
Departures
  • Oct
    2017
  • Nov
    2017
  • Dec
    2017
  • Jan
    2018
  • Feb
    2018
  • Mar
    2018
  • Apr
    2018
  • May
    2018
  • Jun
    2018
  • Jul
    2018
  • Aug
    2018
  • Sep
    2018
  • Oct
    2018
  • Nov
    2018
  • Dec
    2018
  • Start
  • Finish
  • Wed, 25 Oct '17
  • Wed, 01 Nov '17
  • Sat, 28 Oct '17
  • Sat, 04 Nov '17
  • Sat, 04 Nov '17
  • Sat, 11 Nov '17
  • Wed, 08 Nov '17
  • Wed, 15 Nov '17
  • Sat, 11 Nov '17
  • Sat, 18 Nov '17
  • Sat, 18 Nov '17
  • Sat, 25 Nov '17
  • Wed, 22 Nov '17
  • Wed, 29 Nov '17
  • Sat, 25 Nov '17
  • Sat, 02 Dec '17
  • Wed, 29 Nov '17
  • Wed, 06 Dec '17
  • Thu, 30 Nov '17
  • Thu, 07 Dec '17
  • Sat, 02 Dec '17
  • Sat, 09 Dec '17
  • Wed, 06 Dec '17
  • Wed, 13 Dec '17
  • Sat, 09 Dec '17
  • Sat, 16 Dec '17
  • Sat, 16 Dec '17
  • Sat, 23 Dec '17
  • Wed, 20 Dec '17
  • Wed, 27 Dec '17
  • Tue, 02 Jan '18
  • Tue, 09 Jan '18
  • Wed, 03 Jan '18
  • Wed, 10 Jan '18
  • Sat, 06 Jan '18
  • Sat, 13 Jan '18
  • Wed, 10 Jan '18
  • Wed, 17 Jan '18
  • Sat, 13 Jan '18
  • Sat, 20 Jan '18
  • Sat, 20 Jan '18
  • Sat, 27 Jan '18
  • Wed, 24 Jan '18
  • Wed, 31 Jan '18
  • Wed, 31 Jan '18
  • Wed, 07 Feb '18
  • Sat, 03 Feb '18
  • Sat, 10 Feb '18
  • Tue, 06 Feb '18
  • Tue, 13 Feb '18
  • Sat, 10 Feb '18
  • Sat, 17 Feb '18
  • Wed, 14 Feb '18
  • Wed, 21 Feb '18
  • Sat, 17 Feb '18
  • Sat, 24 Feb '18
  • Sun, 18 Feb '18
  • Sun, 25 Feb '18
  • Wed, 21 Feb '18
  • Wed, 28 Feb '18
  • Sat, 24 Feb '18
  • Sat, 03 Mar '18
  • Wed, 28 Feb '18
  • Wed, 07 Mar '18
  • Sat, 03 Mar '18
  • Sat, 10 Mar '18
  • Tue, 06 Mar '18
  • Tue, 13 Mar '18
  • Sat, 10 Mar '18
  • Sat, 17 Mar '18
  • Wed, 14 Mar '18
  • Wed, 21 Mar '18
  • Thu, 15 Mar '18
  • Thu, 22 Mar '18
  • Mon, 19 Mar '18
  • Mon, 26 Mar '18
  • Sat, 24 Mar '18
  • Sat, 31 Mar '18
  • Wed, 28 Mar '18
  • Wed, 04 Apr '18
  • Sat, 31 Mar '18
  • Sat, 07 Apr '18
  • Tue, 03 Apr '18
  • Tue, 10 Apr '18
  • Sat, 07 Apr '18
  • Sat, 14 Apr '18
  • Wed, 11 Apr '18
  • Wed, 18 Apr '18
  • Tue, 17 Apr '18
  • Tue, 24 Apr '18
  • Sat, 21 Apr '18
  • Sat, 28 Apr '18
  • Mon, 23 Apr '18
  • Mon, 30 Apr '18
  • Wed, 25 Apr '18
  • Wed, 02 May '18
  • Sat, 28 Apr '18
  • Sat, 05 May '18
  • Sat, 05 May '18
  • Sat, 12 May '18
  • Mon, 07 May '18
  • Mon, 14 May '18
  • Wed, 09 May '18
  • Wed, 16 May '18
  • Mon, 14 May '18
  • Mon, 21 May '18
  • Wed, 16 May '18
  • Wed, 23 May '18
  • Sat, 19 May '18
  • Sat, 26 May '18
  • Wed, 23 May '18
  • Wed, 30 May '18
  • Sat, 26 May '18
  • Sat, 02 Jun '18
  • Sat, 02 Jun '18
  • Sat, 09 Jun '18
  • Wed, 06 Jun '18
  • Wed, 13 Jun '18
  • Sat, 09 Jun '18
  • Sat, 16 Jun '18
  • Sat, 16 Jun '18
  • Sat, 23 Jun '18
  • Wed, 20 Jun '18
  • Wed, 27 Jun '18
  • Sat, 23 Jun '18
  • Sat, 30 Jun '18
  • Wed, 27 Jun '18
  • Wed, 04 Jul '18
  • Sat, 30 Jun '18
  • Sat, 07 Jul '18
  • Wed, 04 Jul '18
  • Wed, 11 Jul '18
  • Thu, 05 Jul '18
  • Thu, 12 Jul '18
  • Sat, 07 Jul '18
  • Sat, 14 Jul '18
  • Wed, 11 Jul '18
  • Wed, 18 Jul '18
  • Thu, 12 Jul '18
  • Thu, 19 Jul '18
  • Sat, 14 Jul '18
  • Sat, 21 Jul '18
  • Tue, 17 Jul '18
  • Tue, 24 Jul '18
  • Sat, 21 Jul '18
  • Sat, 28 Jul '18
  • Thu, 26 Jul '18
  • Thu, 02 Aug '18
  • Sat, 28 Jul '18
  • Sat, 04 Aug '18
  • Wed, 01 Aug '18
  • Wed, 08 Aug '18
  • Thu, 02 Aug '18
  • Thu, 09 Aug '18
  • Sat, 04 Aug '18
  • Sat, 11 Aug '18
  • Thu, 09 Aug '18
  • Thu, 16 Aug '18
  • Sat, 11 Aug '18
  • Sat, 18 Aug '18
  • Tue, 14 Aug '18
  • Tue, 21 Aug '18
  • Thu, 16 Aug '18
  • Thu, 23 Aug '18
  • Sat, 18 Aug '18
  • Sat, 25 Aug '18
  • Sat, 25 Aug '18
  • Sat, 01 Sep '18
  • Wed, 29 Aug '18
  • Wed, 05 Sep '18
  • Sat, 01 Sep '18
  • Sat, 08 Sep '18
  • Sat, 08 Sep '18
  • Sat, 15 Sep '18
  • Mon, 10 Sep '18
  • Mon, 17 Sep '18
  • Wed, 12 Sep '18
  • Wed, 19 Sep '18
  • Sat, 15 Sep '18
  • Sat, 22 Sep '18
  • Sat, 22 Sep '18
  • Sat, 29 Sep '18
  • Wed, 26 Sep '18
  • Wed, 03 Oct '18
  • Sat, 29 Sep '18
  • Sat, 06 Oct '18
  • Sat, 06 Oct '18
  • Sat, 13 Oct '18
  • Wed, 10 Oct '18
  • Wed, 17 Oct '18
  • Sun, 14 Oct '18
  • Sun, 21 Oct '18
  • Sat, 20 Oct '18
  • Sat, 27 Oct '18
  • Wed, 24 Oct '18
  • Wed, 31 Oct '18
  • Sat, 27 Oct '18
  • Sat, 03 Nov '18
  • Wed, 31 Oct '18
  • Wed, 07 Nov '18
  • Sat, 03 Nov '18
  • Sat, 10 Nov '18
  • Wed, 07 Nov '18
  • Wed, 14 Nov '18
  • Sun, 11 Nov '18
  • Sun, 18 Nov '18
  • Thu, 15 Nov '18
  • Thu, 22 Nov '18
  • Sat, 17 Nov '18
  • Sat, 24 Nov '18
  • Wed, 21 Nov '18
  • Wed, 28 Nov '18
  • Sat, 24 Nov '18
  • Sat, 01 Dec '18
  • Wed, 28 Nov '18
  • Wed, 05 Dec '18
  • Thu, 29 Nov '18
  • Thu, 06 Dec '18
  • Sat, 01 Dec '18
  • Sat, 08 Dec '18
  • Mon, 03 Dec '18
  • Mon, 10 Dec '18
  • Wed, 05 Dec '18
  • Wed, 12 Dec '18
  • Sat, 08 Dec '18
  • Sat, 15 Dec '18
  • Mon, 10 Dec '18
  • Mon, 17 Dec '18
  • Sat, 15 Dec '18
  • Sat, 22 Dec '18
  • Wed, 19 Dec '18
  • Wed, 26 Dec '18
  • Mon, 24 Dec '18
  • Mon, 31 Dec '18
TRIP SPECIFIC SAFETY

Cox & Kings takes all reasonable measures to ensure your safety and enjoyment while travelling with us. The aim of this document is to give you an insight into ways you may further enhance your own personal safety while abroad.

Places Visited
  • Bangkok
  • On Board A Train.
  • Chiang Mai
  • Ban Mae Jok
  • Pa Khao Lam
  • On Board The Train
  • Bangkok to Bangkok Map
  • DAY 1 Arrive Bangkok

    Arrive in Bangkok at any time.

    Today is arrival day, so there are no activities planned. Enjoy free time to relax, explore the city, and adjust to the frantic pace and humid heat of Bangkok.

    After your meeting, head out for an optional dinner to get to know your CEO and fellow group members better.

    Arrival Day and Welcome Meeting
    18:00
    Tonight, the adventure begins. Feel free to explore - but make sure you're back in time to meet your group. After introductions, your CEO will review the details of your trip. (None (Meals on your own))

  • DAY 2 Bangkok/Chiang Mai

    Opt to visit Wat Po and the Grand Palace, or check out the city's klongs by boat. Board an overnight train to Chiang Mai (potential for alternative transport during monsoon season, depending on conditions). Enjoy one of two street food crawls with the group and CEO while in Chiang Mai.

    Street Food Crawl
    Evening
    Bring your appetite and your wallet. The CEO will bring the group to the best spots to eat and teach everyone about the local street food. Yum!

    Overnight train (beds)
    Bangkok - Chiang Mai 12h
    Stretch out and get some well-earned rest en route to the next stop.

    Free Time
    Bangkok Full Day
    Get out and explore bustling Bangkok!

    Optional Activities
    Grand Palace Visit

    Bangkok
    Visit the King's official residence (made up of many buildings, halls, lawns, gardens, and courtyards) on the banks of the Chao Phraya River. See the Temple of the Emerald Buddha and the Phra Maha Monthien Buildings.

    Klong Riverboat Tour
    Bangkok
    Travel by longtail boat on the busy Chao Phraya River. Go through the smaller klongs (canals) to see skyscrapers, temples, and shops in the distance, and the densely populated waterfront settlements up close. (Breakfast)

  • DAY 3 Chiang Mai

    Opt to visit Doi Suthep temple, comb the night markets for souvenirs, or participate in a Thai cooking class.

    Free Time
    Chiang Mai Full Day
    Get out and explore this bustling city in northern Thailand.

    Optional Activities
    Yoga Class
    Stretch and hold poses in this gentle but effective form of exercise.

    Massage (Southeast Asia)
    Lie back and soothe aching travel muscles with a famous local massage. Affordable and amazing -- don't miss out!

    Doi Suthep Temple Visit
    Doi Suthep
    Visit Wat Phra That Doi Suthep, a golden Buddhist temple outside of Chiang Mai on the Mt Doi Suthep. Climb 300 steps to reach the temple and be rewarded with an unforgettable view. Admire the many Buddhist relics at this sacred temple and visit the white elephant shrine. Legend has it that the location of the temple was chosen after a white elephant carried a relic to the mountain and trumpeted three times before dying on the spot. Also, with a little luck, you may witness the chanting of the monks.

    Cooking Class
    Chiang Mai
    Pick out the best ingredients at a local market, and learn how to make delicious Thai dishes. (None (Meals on your own))

  • DAY 4 Chiang Mai/Ban Mae Jok

    Trek through rugged forests and experience the wonderful diversity of this region: each village has its own language, belief system, style of dress, and traditions. Drive from Chiang Mai to Mae Malai village, where the trek will begin. After a few hours of hiking, reach the first village.

    We might have time to visit a local market before stopping for lunch and starting our trek.

    Tucked away in the hills of northern Thailand is where the most colourful and unchanged traditional communities can be found. Trek through forests and rural terrains to visit some of these diverse hilltribe villages; often, each will have their own unique language, clothing style, and belief system that differs significantly from those of neighbouring tribes. You are well looked after by your local guides, who take the responsibility of preparing all meals and carrying food supplies.

    Pickup truck
    Chiang Mai - Ban Mae Malai 1h
    Hop into the back and ride along to the next destination.

    Hilltribe Trek Day 1
    Mae Taeng - Ban Mae Jok
    Hit the road in an open pickup truck for Mae Malai where there is time to visit a local market to purchase food and snacks. Start the trek through forests and rugged terrain to Baan Mae Jok, a Karen village. (Breakfast,Lunch,Dinner)

  • DAY 5 Ban Mae Jok/Pa Khao Lam

    Trek 2-3 hrs and, after lunch, head to a Karen village to learn about traditional basket weaving and scarf-making. Continue trekking another few hours to the next village for the night.

    You will also have the chance to fish at Mae Tang River using local tools; learn how to construct a bamboo raft.

    Hilltribe Trek Day 2
    Ban Mae Jok - Pa Khao Lam
    After breakfast, trek 3.5-4 hrs to reach the lunch stop. Take in the beautiful scenery along the way. Enjoy lunch before carrying on another hour or so to the Karen village of Ban Pa Khao Lam. (Breakfast,Dinner,Lunch)

  • DAY 6 Pa Khao Lam/Chiang Mai

    After breakfast, leave the village by bamboo raft, stopping at other villages along the way. Meet the van after lunch and head back to Chiang Mai for some free time to explore.

    Bamboo Rafting to Lahu Village
    Pa Khao Lam - Lahu Village
    Board the traditional bamboo raft for a leisurely ride down the Mae Tang River. Reach the Lahu hill tribe village near Ban Pong Ngan. Enjoy a visit with the locals here and learn about the life and unique culture of the Lahu tribe.

    Lahu Village Visit
    Lahu Village
    Take a bamboo raft down the Mae Tan River for one hour journey to a Lahu village to witness a lifestyle that dates hundreds of years.

    Bamboo Rafting to Shan Village
    Lahu Village - Ban Sop Gai
    Board a traditional bamboo raft for and enjoy a ride through some small rapids on the Mae Tang River.

    Pickup truck
    Ban Sop Gai - Chiang Mai 1h30m-2h
    Hop into the back and ride along to the next destination.

    Free Time
    Chiang Mai Evening
    Check out more of Chiang Mai. (Breakfast,Lunch)

  • DAY 7 Chiang Mai/Bangkok

    Opt to go shopping, enjoy a Thai massage, or explore Chiang Mai's many temples. Board an overnight train to Bangkok (potential for alternative transport during monsoon season, depending on conditions).

    Overnight train (beds)
    Chiang Mai - Bangkok 12h-13h
    Stretch out and get some well-earned rest en route to the next stop.

    Free Time
    Chiang Mai Full Day
    Enjoy a final day to check out Chiang Mai.

    Optional Activities
    Massage (Southeast Asia)

    Lie back and soothe aching travel muscles with a famous local massage. Affordable and amazing -- don't miss out!

    Chiang Mai City Tour
    Chiang Mai
    Enjoy a tour of spectacular Chiang Mai, a delightful city surrounded by rolling hills and filled with impressive architecture. Explore the great cafes, shops and accommodations of the old city; an important Buddhist centre since the 14th century, it is home to more than 300 temples. Many visitors come here to attend meditation retreats, massage classes or yoga lessons.

    Chiang Mai Cycling Tour
    Chiang Mai
    Meander through the old city of Chiang Mai on bike.

    Doi Suthep Temple Visit
    Doi Suthep
    Visit Wat Phra That Doi Suthep, a golden Buddhist temple outside of Chiang Mai on the Mt Doi Suthep. Climb 300 steps to reach the temple and be rewarded with an unforgettable view. Admire the many Buddhist relics at this sacred temple and visit the white elephant shrine. Legend has it that the location of the temple was chosen after a white elephant carried a relic to the mountain and trumpeted three times before dying on the spot. Also, with a little luck, you may witness the chanting of the monks.

    Cooking Class
    Chiang Mai
    Pick out the best ingredients at a local market, and learn how to make delicious Thai dishes. (Breakfast)

  • DAY 8 Depart Bangkok

    The trip ends on arrival at the Bangkok train station (or airport, depending on the season). Onward travel can be booked for 3pm or later.

    Arrive back into Bangkok at about 8am, where the trip finishes and everyone is free to depart from the train station (or airport, depending on the season). If you are departing Bangkok today, please do not book any onward travel until after 3pm to avoid any travel difficulties due to unforeseen delays.

    Departure Day (Activities)
    Depart on arrival to your final destination. Your CEO can help with any onward travel arrangements you require. (None (Meals on your own))

  • Meal basis

    As per itinerary - B: Breakfast, L: Lunch, D: Dinner, N: No meals

  • TRIP DETAILS

    If you have booked this trip or are curious about all of the details, you can download this trip's information as a PDF.

    Please ensure that you print a final copy of your Trip Details to review a couple of days prior to travel, in case there have been changes that affect your plans.

  1. We recommend you to have a meal budget of USD65-85 for food and drinks which are not included in the programme.

  2. This programme is operated on a Coach tour. Maximum Group size is 18 passengers,at an average there are 12 passengers travelling on this tour.


  3. Itinerary descriptions are guaranteed with the exception of unforeseen conditions which include, but are not limited to, road closures due to weather, acts of God, safety concerns, changes to highway legal restrictions, and acts by third parties beyond the control of Service Provider.


  4. There is no refund for any non-utilization of any services.


  5. All holiday prices are subject to Govt. Service Tax of 5% payable to Govt of India.

  6. At this point of time no services are confirmed and the same is subject to availability.


  7. Request for an early hotel check in or late checkout is at the discretion of the accommodation unless pre-booked and pre-paid in advance.


  8. All payment to be made strictly by cheque / Demand Draft / Direct bank transfer in favour of 'COX AND KINGS LIMITED'.


  9. COMBO TRIP
    Please note that this tour combines with other G Adventures tours. As such, the staff and some travel companions on your tour may have previously been traveling together with G Adventures, prior to Day 1 of your tour. Likewise, some staff and travel companions may be continuing together on another G Adventures tour, after your trip concludes.



Please wait as we update your request.

Download Full itinerary